Like the Odyssey, but without being turned into a pig

Day one of the Big Training Trip is done, and I’m feeling pretty good. Mostly I’m trying to remember that I have two solid weeks here, so it’s okay if I ratchet the intensity up a little more slowly. Burning out is bad and wrong. Besides, I can overtrain anywhere, I’d sort of like to make the most of my time left here. I’m sure I’ll have some kind of amusing mishap soon, though, so don’t go thinking I’ve gotten TOO sensible on everyone. Eating KFC within 2 hours of training wasn’t my best idea ever, for instance. The trainer sure seemed to think it was funny when I let out an earth-shaking belch after getting hit in the body, so at least there’s that.

I realized yesterday that this will be the longest period of time I’ll have been by myself in quite a while. I think it’ll edge out when Tryn went to Florida by a couple of days, but I’m not certain. Either way, it’s sort of intimidating, stupid as it sounds. I’m not going to say I’m turning into a sitcom husband who’s completely helpless without his wife around to make sure he doesn’t accidentally burn the house down, but it IS a little bit strange after 5 years of not being apart for more than a few days at a time. Besides, there’s no stove here, so I can’t burn the place down without a lot more effort than forgetting about the oven. And to be realistic about it, I’m probably just going to do the same thing I’ve been doing in Suphan, just without Tryn in the room too. Farting around with old PS1 games on an emulator isn’t really a couples kind of activity.

As we’re starting to wrap up, I’m beginning to see the trip as a whole as kind of a learning experience. Yes, I went overseas and found myself, just like the protagonist of all those dumb quarterlife crisis movies. Somebody kill me. In all seriousness, though, I feel a lot more prepared for our move to San Antonio after we get home now. I used to be intimidated by the idea of picking up and moving to another city where we didn’t really know anybody or where anything was. It’s a little hard to muster up a ton of nervousness after doing that in another country on the other side of the planet, especially when the population of the town combined probably knows about 20 words of English. By comparison, settling in down in Texas is going to seem like a vacation.

Something else I’ve managed to lose while we’re here is some more of my pickiness with food. I owe that in large part to the training camp experience. It’s a lot harder to turn your nose up at something if you just finished two hours of hard work and have another two ahead of you later in the day. They haven’t always been positive gastronomical experiences, but I’m getting better. I still won’t touch fish, though I have my allergy to excuse me from needing to get over how nasty it all tastes to me.

Maybe none of this sounds that significant, but everybody’s got different priorities. I mean, I’m sure as hell not making any progress with learning Thai, so I have to take my victories where I get them.

-end transmission

Leave a Reply

