Screw you, relativity

We’ve reached that particular point when you’ve got something big coming up when time starts playing games with you. We aren’t so close to heading home to seriously need to wrap everything up, but it’s visible enough on the horizon that it seems like it could be tomorrow. But, of course, it’s not. So, some days scream on by, leaving me wondering how we left another week in the books.  And others crawl like snails, like going to work hung over the morning after a St. Patty’s party, which is an experience I’ve had the joy of going through myself. It was like this when we hit this point with the wedding, too. Some days there was no way we were going to get everything done, and some days we just wished it would get there already so it could be done with. I feel like I may have talked about this in an entry before we left, but here we are again.

On the upside, September is looking up. I’ll be heading to Bangkok for two weeks straight to put in some hard work at Fighting Spirit, so that’s sure to be awesome. In a panting, sweating, possibly bleeding, certain to be wishing for death kind of way, but that’s the cost of doing business to get better. And I think I’m getting better, but I have no real way to gauge that. Working with the Thais makes me feel clumsy and stupid, so I can’t really tell. I guess it won’t be too much longer before I get to see the progress I’ve made at home, but still, sometimes it’s a pain in the ass to have been here for nearly 4 months and not be able to tell if my skills have improved. Oh well, soon enough.

Some days I have a hard time deciding which I’m going to get fat on first when we get home- pizza, or steak. If only there were some way to do both at once.

-end transmission

Leave a comment