Cough cough hack die

I’ve learned something that I suspect all of my teacher friends already know- children are walking little bags of disease and contagion. Tryn got bronchitis two weeks ago from one of her kids, which jumped ship over to me and switched it up into a sinus infection. Thankfully we’re both in the clear at this point, except for some residual coughing. She swears her kids are adorable, but I don’t see them on a daily basis, so I really only know them as living plague vectors. I guess it’s a small glimpse into the future once we start spawning.

It hasn’t really been an overly-exciting couple of weeks since I last wrote, I don’t think. The visa thing is still not taken care of, due to nobody being all that certain of what papers I need. We think we have it nailed down at this point, so now Tryn just has to corner her boss about it and actually get the damn things. This hasn’t been particularly easy, considering nobody in the school seems overly interested in helping me out with immigration. It’ll get done one way or the other, even if I have to drag her boss by the hair to the immigration office with me. It’s just aggravating in the meantime.

Most of the last few weeks has been doing some gym recon. There wasn’t anything wrong with the one I’d been training at, but it hit me that I’m not really going to have this chance again, so I want to swing around to as many as I can while I’m here. Although, at the same time, I’d kind of like to find a home base and make some friends while I’m at it. Next up on the list is a place called Watcharachai Gym, which is run by a former fighter of the year award winner, who went 13-0 in that year . He’s also one of the trainers/fighters from Kaewsamrit, which you might recall I mentioned a few entries ago is Primo’s gym while he’s over here. Obviously I’m pretty psyched to go get some work in there this week. If it works out, I’ll hang around there for a while and see if I can get a fight once I get my weight down to where it needs to be for that. Although I’ve already lost 15 pounds since I got here, so Jaa-ification is proceeding well.

That’s about it for now. I’ve hit the sort of weekly routine where I haven’t got as much to say as often, just because I don’t think anyone really gives a crap about “Went to training, ate rice, almost got run over trying to cross the street” updates. Settling in is good, but I’m still looking forward to coming home. And steak.

-end transmission

Leave a Reply

