No boom! Too much boom, no beauty.

My first experience training in Thailand was, in parts, enlightening, hilarious, humiliating, and nauseating. Let’s start with the heat, why don’t we? I was pretty sure I was going to wither and die within the first 20 minutes. I knew it was going to be hot, but holy crap, nothing can prepare you for the difference in temperature and humidity. And apparently it’s now just the rainy season, not actual summer. Good god. Thankfully, I got honest cabbies and didn’t get messed around on the fare or them getting mysteriously lost. Which is something I can’t say for a lot of the cabs I got back at home. So at least I was able to get there easily, so I could go nearly be sick without a problem.

After shadowboxing in front of the head trainer for all of about 30 seconds, he stopped me and immediately put me back on moving forward and back, and throwing jabs and crosses. We moved over to a heavy bag, where I was eventually allowed to do some elbows and knees as well. After three breaks in ten minutes because I’m a big wuss, I was eventually given the bit of advice found in the title of this entry. It took me a second to get it, but Primo was right about fighting being a universal language. That, and I’m sure my experience in attempting to understand eastern European fencers, coaches, and refs for several years has given me a leg up on the process. We moved over to pads after a bit, which was fun and educational in a “is it okay if I puke or pass out or pass out in my puke” kind of way. This also marks my first time checking kicks with no shin guards, which wasn’t really as bad as I thought it would be. At the time, anyway. The entire thing was blown up like a softball the day afterwards.

Once we were done there, he decided we should spar. Which went as well as I figured it would. I’ve never had someone giggle so much while smacking me around, but I guess it was as fitting an end to my first day training here as I was going to find. That was all a few days ago in Bangkok, though. Now that we’re finally here in Suphanburi, Tryn’s boss has told me that he thinks there aren’t any camps here. I don’t think I quite agree with that. There’s almost a million people in this city and a freaking muay thai stadium, don’t tell me there’s no place to train. They’re probably just in the less-manicured parts of town, which we haven’t had a chance to go looking for trouble in yet. We seem to be living in the Thai version of Fairport or Pittsford, so I think I just haven’t found the right people to be asking yet. I’m imagining the blank looks I’d get if I asked around in Fairport if they knew where Vertex was, and I think it’s probably a pretty solid comparison.

But I do have a few places to start my search. First, I figure I’ll get over to the stadium itself and ask around there. Also, just down the road from us is a physical education college, and I definitely saw a room full of heavy bags on their first floor. Because it’s a school, they might not just let me walk in and train, but I’d bet anything they can tell me where I’d be able to go. And third, I can just have Tryn ask her students. She’s teaching a bunch of groups of teenagers, there’s got to be at least one of them who knows.

These are all activities for a little later, though. First thing we need to get done is laundry, since we’re officially completely out of clean clothes. I’ll go out seeking abuse after I can do it without being naked.

-end transmission

Leave a Reply

