Eric’s muay thai dealership

I should probably be off doing something orientation-related with Tryn, but dealing with jet lag is proving to be a pretty difficult task. I think I might be too many years removed from my last idiotic all-nighter to be able to grind through a day while 3/4ths asleep, and I keep ending up sleeping during the day and waking up at 2:30 in the morning. So most of my time here so far has consisted of eating, failing miserably at learning Thai, and creeping on the internet at odd hours of the day. I haven’t yet had time to go off to do any training.

However, word seems to have gotten around in Tryn’s teacher group that I’m the guy to talk to about finding places to train, which is new and strange for me. Mostly because my previous experience in gym recommendations have boiled down to “You should go to Vision Quest, we’re great and make you popular and successful with the ladies.” All of the above is true. Anyway, I’ve had 3 or 4 people come up to me and start with “You know, I really don’t mean to bother you or anything, but…” Bother me? This is why I came here, I think it’s awesome that other people want to give it a try while they’re over here. Besides, I don’t know what they think I get up to when I’m not with Tryn, but my ability to wander off on my own is currently pretty limited, so I really am just sitting on my butt in our room with nothing better to do. Yes, I can help you find a place to train! As long as you promise to wear goofy shorts when you do it.

Other than that, I’m mostly just looking forward to the end of the week and getting to set up shop in our apartment in Suphanburi. It’ll be easier to get into the swing of things when we have more control over how we spend our time, and the ability to eat whenever instead of waiting for orientation food time. We’ll probably also look into what our options for transportation are, maybe even learn how to ride a motorcycle while we’re here. I’ll try not to get stepped on by an elephant.

-end transmission

Leave a Reply

