Operation: Be Social, complete

Well, it’s 6:45 on Sunday night, and I feel about like I did after running the Warrior Dash. Between the deaf benefit Friday, the car accident right before it, the going away party and Vertex yesterday,and the 6 or so hours of sleep I got total during the weekend, I’m oversocialized like a grouchy dog. And like a grouchy dog, all I really want to do is pee on the rug and go to sleep. But we don’t have a rug, and I’m pretty sure that would void our security deposit anyway, so I’ll have to deal with writing instead. Don’t get me wrong, the last few days were a lot of fun, and I was happy to see everyone, but I’m out of gas.

This week’s mission is to get ourselves moved back into Tryn’s mom’s place for our last few days here, so we’re going to have to really crank up the donate-store-trash cycle. We’re most of the way done at this point, but it’s still a monstrous pain in the ass. Easier than moving usually is, though, because this time we get to throw out anything we don’t feel like keeping. I know that’s a pretty normal part of moving, but this is motivated by necessity- when we come home, what are we going to be able to pack up and move with? Our primary thought right now is having as little junk as possible when we come back to the states.

It’s liberating, in a way. It feels kind of good to be able to shrug and go “Toss it” at will. We’ve always thought of ourselves as people who don’t place a ton of value on material things, and I guess it’s nice to have our self-images confirmed, considering how little we really care about keeping. Although, to be fair, a lot of our things were bought with this goal in mind anyway. I’m not shedding too many tears over the dresser I got at the flea market for ten dollars if I drag it down to the curb. It IS pretty bizarre to not have fifty bajillion boxes of books hanging around, but I guess that’s the magic of having a Kindle.

We also just got back from dropping the cats off with their babysitter for the next 6 months, which I’m pretty bummed about, to say the least. They’re my little monsters, and I already miss them. But at least we finally got someone who can take them and won’t be wanting to keep them once we get home. Although when we went to Belize, I accidentally adopted one of the strays when I gave him some milk, and he followed me around for the rest of the time we were there. I wasn’t too upset about that.

So we’re at one more week in Rochester. The 30th is when we’re headed down to New York to see my family before we fly out of JFK. I’m having a bit of a mental disconnect every time I wake up and look around and realize one more day has clicked off the calendar. What can you do but go with it?

-end transmission

Leave a Reply

