Insert “first post” cliche here.

Today seems as good a day as any to get this thing up and going. We’re at two weeks to the day until we blow out of here. I have to say, I’m vacillating pretty frequently between “Oh my god, coolest thing ever!” and “Oh my god, what the hell is wrong with me?” But I guess that’s pretty normal when you’re moving to the other side of the world for half a year, especially considering my previous international experience amounts to-

Belize, for ten days on our honeymoon. Awesome, but temporary.

Canada, for like a day. I don’t know, I don’t think I was old enough to have hair on my legs yet. That fabled era beyond the mists of history.

And here we are picking up and leaving for 5-6 months to a country on the opposite side of the world. My sum total knowledge of Thailand is that they will be kicking me in the legs a lot, and the food will probably make me belch fire. That first one is the big reason I’m excited. For the…I don’t know, 3 and a half of you who don’t know, I’ve been training in muay thai for some time now, which is a style of kickboxing that comes from, you guessed it, Thailand. So I’m off to learn from the masters, in the motherland. I don’t even know where yet, I’m just going to wander the town looking for a place to train. And I’m pretty sure that’s how a lot of kung fu movies start. So that’s pretty great.

But it’s not all sunshine, roses, and bruised legs. There’s the flight to deal with, first. The 21 hour flight. Crossing many time zones, leading to horrific jet lag. I hate flying, is what I’m saying. Which seems like a small enough thing to bitch about, considering the bigger picture, but cut me some slack. I need to have something to complain about.

However, a day full of packing, throwing out, and getting vaccinated leaves me without a lot of gas left in the tank at this hour, and bed is calling my name. These entries will get a ton more interesting once we’re in Thailand, promise.

-end transmission

Leave a Reply

